Tuesday, February 23, 2016

AFCYRs elect 2016 Executive Board

L to R: Emily Larsen, Brenna Morlock, Martha Boneta,
Andrew Loposser, Katie Johnson

The Arlington Falls Church Young Republicans elected their 2016 Executive Board at the February Monthly meeting. Outgoing Chairman Matthew Hurtt said, "I am honored for having had the privilege to serve as chairman for the last two years and am confident I'm leaving the club in good hands."

Incoming Executive Board members include: Andrew Loposser, Chairman; Brenna Morlock, Vice Chairman; Terry Camp, Treasurer; Emily Larsen, Secretary; and Katie Johnson, Director of Communications. 

Chairman: Andrew Loposser --
Andrew Loposser is originally from the Old North State -- North Carolina. Shortly after graduating college, Andrew moved to Arlington, where he has lived for 4 years. Shortly after moving to Arlington, Andrew got involved with the Arlington Falls Church Young Republicans. He has worked on several local and national races, including Dave Foster's delegate race and John Vihstadt's Independent bid for Arlington County Board. He cut his teeth in Virginia politics by volunteering tirelessly for Ken Cuccinelli's 2013 gubernatorial bid. Andrew currently works for the Republican Party of Virginia and is dedicated to bringing home a victory in November!
Vice Chairman: Brenna Morlock --
Brenna is originally from Michigan, where she worked for the Michigan Republican Party and assisted with both the governor’s race in 2010 as well as the Romney campaign in 2012. Her experience in fundraising and event planning helped the state party raise $13 million in one election cycle. Now with the Heritage Foundation, Brenna manages their direct mail and telemarketing programs. Brenna graduated from Albion College with a degree in political science and she is currently pursuing a master’s degree in fundraising management at Avila University. She resides in Arlington with her husband, Ben.
Treasurer: Terry Camp --
Terry is currently working as a Professional Staff member for the House Committee on Natural Resources. A native of Hyde Park, Utah, Terry has been involved in politics at the local, state, and federal level. Terry graduated in 2011 with a B.A. in Political Science from Utah State University in Logan, Utah. While studying at Utah State, Terry interned for Congressman Rob Bishop (UT-01). Upon graduating from Utah State, Terry worked as a campaign staffer over four northern Utah counties for Senator Hatch’s successful 2012 reelection bid. While working for the Hatch campaign, Terry served as a Legislative District Co-Chair for the Cache County Republican Party, and was selected as one of six Presidential Electors for the State of Utah. Following the Utah Republican primary in 2012, Terry was hired by Senator Hatch's federal office. After working for Senator Hatch for 2 1/2 years, Terry was hired by Chairman Rob Bishop to work on the Subcommittee on Federal Lands staff. Terry currently attends George Mason University, where is he pursing a Master’s Degree in Public Policy. Terry and his wife Kayla live on Columbia Pike in South Arlington.
Secretary: Emily Larsen --
Emily Larsen is a Regional Field Coordinator at the Leadership Institute, where she organizes and trains conservative and libertarian college students to win on campus. She's originally from Albuquerque, New Mexico, where she interned in the office of Mayor Richard J. Berry and volunteered for various Republican campaigns.
Director of Communications: Katie Johnson --
Katie Johnson moved to Arlington, VA from Wisconsin the summer of 2013 for an opportunity with the Leadership Institute and has been here ever since. She currently works in digital communications at the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC) and has been active with AFCYRs for the past year. Prior to living in Arlington, Katie served as Secretary for the Wisconsin Federation of College Republicans and worked on various state and local races in Wisconsin, including efforts to reelect Gov. Scott Walker during the Democrats' recall efforts in 2012. Katie looks forward to using her experience and enthusiasm to energize and expand AFCYRs in the year ahead.
If you would like to become a member of the AFCYRs in 2016, you may pay dues here.